THE VRAČAR PACK

I am above all a cat person, but i love dogs too, and dogs have a big advantage comparing to cats: its much easier to take their picture. They also have a big advantage comparing to people: I don’t need to ask for their tacit or explicit consent to take their picture. So I take plenty of pictures of dogs.

Every time I return to Belgrade, one of my first thoughts is whether I will be able to meet once again the lovely stray dogs that live in the garden near Saint Sava Temple. I got used to their presence there, and now I feel emotionally attached to them. My favorite is the white dog with black spots on his eyes. He is also the most difficult to portray, so I call him the elusive dog, because of the fact that he is so shy.

When I was in Belgrade last October, I noticed that there was this dog that looked sad and ill. I was afraid he would not resist the Winter, so it made me really happy to see him once again when I returned some months later. All the dogs were still there, and the sad sick dog looked much better.

Cities are not only made of people and buildings. The stray cats and dogs, the gardens, the trees, the birds, they are citizens too. In the case of Belgrade, they are an essential part of its charm and one of the reasons why I feel so much at home there. Now that I am preparing myself to go back once again, my anxiety starts to rise: will the Vračar dogs be waiting for me? I could call a friend and ask, but I prefer not to know, I hate to get bad news on the phone, and in case there is no bad news to be told, I don’t want to waist the surprise effect of finding all the dogs where they belong.

8 Comments

Filed under Belgrade, Hope, Serbia

8 responses to “THE VRAČAR PACK

  1. Espero que reencontres todos esses amigos!

  2. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Serbia: Belgrade’s Stray Dogs

  3. phil

    I hope you bring then biscuits and things, I would because i’m a big softie.

  4. sarahfranco

    :-)

    And delicious bones too!

  5. Pingback: Defending animals well being in Belgrade: the role of NGOs. « CAFÉ TURCO

  6. Linda

    Can someone please give me the nr to an animal shelter in Belgrade if there is one in Belgrade and also the address to the veterinarska fakultet in Belgrade?

    Linda

  7. Linda

    Linda

    Can someone please give me the nr to an animal shelter in Belgrade if there is one in Belgrade and also the address to the veterinarska fakultet in Belgrade?
    linda_wigan@hotmail.com

    Linda

  8. Pingback: On your Journey East, have a Slice of Serbian Politics! « CAFÉ TURCO

Leave a Reply

