Portugal recognizes the independence of Kosovo

I am happy and proud!

Better late than never, although we can’t say that q recognition 8 mounths after independence was declared is really a late recognition.

Interestingly, the minister of Foreign Affairs declared that it was the changes in the international system following Russia’s recognition of Ossetia and Abkazia that made the government take such decision. Few countries could have a higher interest in the enhancement of euro-atlantic integration, so it is a very good sign to see portugal returning to the political consensus over integration that has been the key to our democratization process since the 1970s.

I am sending a kiss to my dear friends from Pristina whom I will try to visit soon (now that I don’t feel obliged to return the dicount I got in February for belonging to a country that supports Kosova);

(thanks, Sebanau, for the first hand information, I hadn’t yet have the time to read the news)

Update: here are the links: the news; the rection of support of the main opposition party.

I am travelling so I really don’t have time to go into this, and anyway there is not much to say than to rejoice that those who were oposing recognition, namely the portuguese president, no longer think that way. I am particularly happy that Serbia will no longer use the fact that Portugal opted to be careful in this matter to claim that Portugal was supporting Serbia because of principles (even going to the point where serbian polititians claimed that, unlike Spain that has a direct interest in this; Portugal was obstructing the viability of Kosovo for the sqke of generousity towards Serbia).

For the portuguese reading readers, I strongly recomend Max Spencer Dohner’s post where he deconstructs the ridiculous and qnti-democratic arguments of the parties on the far left, Bloco de Esquerda and Partido Comunista Português (both well represented on parliament). Most of the portuguese lqnguqge readers already read Devaneios Desintericos, Max’s blog but still here’s the link.

Update 2: I am not using my computer but I remembered that I had these photos on a USB drive, so I thought it was a good moment to share them. Kosova is the country in Europe with the youngest population. Thqt gives the country q very nice environment, especially in Prishtina. It is q greqt chqllenge to create jobs for all the young people there, and this is a crutial issue for the develpoment of Kosova. These beautiful children and young adults deserve a bright future, so now the biggest challenge is economical develpoment. This also applies to the Kosovo serbs and other minorities. For them to stay jobs and prospects of a better life are needed.

The first two photos were taken during the Independence party this year;

the one with the kids was taken in April 2007.

Both were taken by me;

( I hope to write q decent post latter because this one is a big mess, but one that reflects my eagerness o share this happy moment with my readers and friends… I hope the phtos may compensate the bad quality of the post)

9 Comments

Filed under EU, Kosovo, Portugal, Serbia

9 responses to “Portugal recognizes the independence of Kosovo

  1. hasan prishtina

    Ju falemnderit! Força Portugal!

    A great step forward and I hope the prelude to other recognitions in Lusofonia.

  2. hasan prishtina

    Sarah, will you be publishing the paper that you presented at the Belgrade conference? Looking at the abstracts, you and your colleagues are producing important and fascinating work that needs to be shared with the wider world.

  3. Adrienna

    What a disgrace! Before the whole world Portugal is shown to be a feeble pawn. It’s clear the country has folded under the EU and American pressure that mirrors schoolyard bullying.
    I was even prouder to be Portuguese when my country said it did not recognise Kosovo’s illegal independence, as Portugal respected and upheld international law. What does this now tell the world?
    Apart from our now supporting a mockery of international laws in which the relevant language is very clear, what does this suggest about the country’s morals and integrity?
    I’m furious that my country has let its people down. Shame on us!

  4. Adrienna

    Kosovo is Serbia!

  5. Sarah Franco

    you are not portuguese, and I don’t allow fake messages on my blog.

    in portuguese your name would be written differently.

    so let’s not play childish games.

  6. Adnan

    Kosovo is only Kosova not serbia your excelence Adrienna

  7. AmericanBlues

    Under the name of cafe Turco, I am not surprised.
    Portuguese have nothing to do with East Europe. The regular Portuguese citizen doesn’t even care and if they do they always pick the Serbian side.
    Kosovo will always be Serbia. Albania is already a country and not some illegal criminal immigrants can come in and take away a piece of another country.