Catching up my blogging…

I haven’t been a good blogger lately, but today I decided to put some order in the blog, I tend to be a bit messy, because i’m always running against the clock, I don’t know why, I guess it’s because there are so  many things I always want to do, time is never enough, and I do get lazy sometimes.

So, for a start I decided to update my blogroll. Although it is polite to link blogs taht link ours, that’s not a criteria I apply, because it would be like buying favours. I’m grateful for all the links I get, but mostly what matters is the feeling of reward that I get when I see that people who don’t know me come here and read what I write, or look at my photos, and then think the blog is good enough to be recomended. I don’t write for myself, I do it because I like to share my impressions and my ideas with others. I like it and I need it.

Today I’m linking Modernity Blog , Martin in the MarginsAirforce Amazons, Limbic Nutrition (sorry Jonathan, I really should have linked you long), and Max Dunbar. Except for Limbic Nutrition which is written mostly in Serbia, all the other blogs are from Britain, a country that I have never visited. I think that gives the measure of how much reading blogs can help us expand our perspective. Thanks to my decision to start blogging in English instead of using my own mother tonghe Portuguese, I have been able to connect myself to people that I would have reached had I kept blogging only in Portuguese. I’m glad also to realize that I have readers who are interested in whatever I may write about my own country, and I have been pushing other portugues eblogges to start writing in English too. Up to now, I have only managed to convince Jelena Markovic, who created my sister blog Invisible Sights. For her too, as for me, the blog is helping her a lot to reach people abroad and getting attention to her work.

I have always loved to read, and I always love to give books I liked to read, especially when they are cheap. Sometimes when I go to the supermarket I look at the promotions, and among the many books who shouldn’t ever have been published because they aren’t more than environmental crimes (all the threes wasted to print them…) I find there true pearls. I think I have already given about 10 exemplars of Aleksandar Hemon The Question of Bruno (only 3 euros in the supermarket), and about the same number of Danilo Kis The Enciclopedia of the Dead (only 4 euros, sometimes 5, depending on where I buy them). I always take care to know if the recepients deserve such treasures, I don’t give them to everyone. I’m sentimental, what can I do?

So, of all the blogs I’m linking today, if I had to reccomend only one, it would be Max Dunbar. He is a writer and I’m his fan. Thanks to his blog, I also got to read the poems of Rachel Fox, whose site I linked some time ago. His blogroll also includes an excellent list of blogs and sites with good stuff for people who like to read.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Catching up my blogging…

  1. Thank you for linking to my blog – much appreciated. I’m glad you decided to blog in English, but please don’t stop writing in Portuguese, or linking to Portuguese websites, as you’ve encouraged me to start learning Portuguese again, so I can follow your excellent links! It’s a language and a culture that more English speakers should know about.
    Best wishes and congratulations on the excellent blog.
    Martin

  2. Sarah Franco

    Martin, the best blog in portuguese that I can recomend you is Max Spencer Dohner’s Devaneios desintéricos. Max is a good friend, half Portuguese and half Swiss, he lives in Algarve and writes both about internal issued and international. For a deeper analysis go to the blog In Between, by my friend Pedro Fontela. Despite the name in English it is written in Portuguese and it’s mainly about Portugal. Fontela follows an intellectual tradition that may seem very pessimistic, but it’s because he is very lucid. They are both good friends of mine and I am always trying to convince them to write something in English for my blog. There are other excellent blogs that you can read, such as Mimiwo, by my friend Rafaela Teves who lives in China (sometimes she’s not in China) and writes in a very personal way. She also writes poems and is an excellent photographer.

    The way these 3 blogs use the portuguese language makes them good reading material for foreigners, they all write very well.

    The Portuguese language is so mistreated nowadays that it’s not easy to find appropriate reading materials.

    During the weeks to come I’ll give the balkans a break and focus more on Portugal, so keep in touch😉

  3. PS: If anybody doesn’t understand Portuguese, here is how you can translate it (just enter URL and select languages): http://translate.google.com/translate_t#

    Cheers!🙂

  4. Sarah Franco

    thanks, Daniel!!!

  5. Owen

    Dan, I have just been paid for retranslating a text that someone thought they could translate using Google. These auto-translators are fine for giving people an idea of what’s in the text but they can be as dangerous as giving a child a box of matches to play with. You should say “here is how you can get a (possibly misleading) insight into what it says”.

  6. Sarah Franco

    Owen, especially in the portuguese language, the effect can be hilariating. But still at least it helps understand what is the subject…

    although that can be done also by picking the words of greek and latin origin and those importet dfor english (like globalização, for instance…)

    in the portuguese language, translations are such a problem… for instance, it is a torture for me to read something translated into portuguese by a brazilian translator. while I have no problem reading brazilian literature, even in those cases where the author uses popular expressions from orality, reading brazilian tranlations is simply awful (sometimes portuguese translations are awful too, that’s why i always try to read the original… but that’s because translators are soo poorly paid
    and that the quality of our faculty of letters is so poor).

  7. modernityblog

    Cheers🙂