NORWEGIAN DIARY: Café Turco’s baby brother.

It’s been more than tree months since I’ve moved to Norway. I’ve been meaning to write about my experience in this country, but every time I think about publishing something, I have the feeling that it’s too early and that my impressions about Norway and the Norwegians are still distorted by my own difficulties in adapting to a different culture and climate.

Overall, I never cease to be positively surprised by the good will of people in general, by their placid way of life, by the way they face parenthood, and by the women-friendly environment at work.

But, as any other country, Norway has a lot of positive things, but also a lot of paradoxes and contradictions, which I am only beginning to grasp. The most disturbing is the ‘jante loven‘, which I would define as the dark side of egalitarianism. Another negative feature is  the peculiar blend of Norwegian bureaucracy, and I also impressed by the relationship people have with the state here, of which the state monopole over wine and spirits is one of the most visible signs.

I came to Norway to study the Balkans. Some people find it very strange, and  I remember that once an idiot in another blog joked that maybe I was coming to look for mass graves. I came because I here I got good conditions to work and a supportive environment, but also for the challenge of knowing a country so different from mine.The field work for my Phd thesis will of course be made in the Balkans. I am now focusing mainly on Bosnia and I am planning to move to Sarajevo by the end of this academic year.

A friend once asked me what how could I explain my attraction for  peninsulas. Indeed, it is very interesting to look at Europe from its peripheries,  while most people tend to adopt the perspective of the centre. Being myself a creature of the South, heading North is allowing me to have a more new perspective on what we Europeans have in common (0r not).

Of all of this I am planning to write about, in due time. Norway i a country gifted by an astonishing natural beauty, so for now, I would like to share with my readers my vision of Norway through my photos. Therefore, I have created a new blog, my Norwegian Diary, where I will regularly post some of my photos. You are welcome to visit it!

3 Comments

Filed under Norway

3 responses to “NORWEGIAN DIARY: Café Turco’s baby brother.

  1. A nice way to share your impressions, very good idea. Wish you all the best in Norway, Sarah….

  2. Owen

    I’ve enjoyed the pictures at Norwegian Diary, but I’m looking forward to you getting back to Cafe Turco – in your own time.

  3. Sarah Correia

    Thanks, Owen!